Star Wars films in order: How to watch ALL the movies in the best way


Star Wars films in order: How to watch ALL the movies in the best way

Star Wars movies are a huge event cinema for fans all across the world. Each time a new movie comes out, tickets are sold out weeks in advance and merchandise drops through everyone’s letterboxes. But now the Skywalker saga is finished and totally new galaxies are being explored, how can fans catch up on all the movies so far?

This timeline of Star Wars movies focuses on the major motion pictures rather than including animated series, novels, or other iterations.

Of course, is a huge amount of plot twists which happened between the movies, which can be seen in other parts of the canon.

The Clone Wars, for example, was an animated series which told the story between Attack of the Clones and The Revenge of the Sith.

Similarly, The Mandalorian is set after the fall of the Empire and before the emergence of the First Order, meaning it is set between Return of the Jedi and The Force Awakens.

READ MORE: James Bond movies: Do James Bond films use special effects?

There is also a theme park ride, Star Wars: Galaxy’s Edge, which is set between The Last Jedi and The Rise of Skywalker.

With each of these series and other events, fans can dig deeper into the characters and learn more about the Star Wars history, as is also aided by the novel series which accompanies the movies.

Here is the chronological order within the timeline of the Star Wars universe, not their release date:

The Phantom Menace: Episode I – 1999

Attack of the Clones: Episode II – 2002

Revenge of the Sith: Episode III – 2005

Solo: A Star Wars Story – 2018

Rogue One: A Star Wars Story – 2016

A New Hope: Episode IV – 1977

The Empire Strikes Back: Episode V – 1980

Return of the Jedi: Episode VI – 1983

The Force Awakens: Episode VII – 2015


The Last Jedi: Episode VIII – 2017

The Rise of Skywalker: Episode IX – 2019

Fans who want to relive the good old days can choose to watch these films by their release date, meaning it would be what is now called A New Hope first, though when it was originally released it was called Star Wars.

This would see the story of Mark Hamill, Carrie Fisher and Harrison Ford’s characters told first before we then see the stories of their elders, namely Anakin Skywalker.

Anakin famously becomes Darth Vader in the course of The Revenge of the Sith, as he fights his mentor, a young Obi-Wan Kenobi.

After these movies comes The Force Awakens, which reignited the story of Leia and Luke Skywalker.

Following this, however, we looked into the world of how the Death Star plans reach Leia at the beginning of A New Hope, which sees the Rogue One adventure take place.

The Last Jedi followed, which continued the story begun in The Force Awakens, after which another spin-off story was considered, this time focusing on how Han Solo became the devilish rogue he was ahead of A New Hope.

Finally, the latest movie, The Rise of Skywalker, completes the Skywalker saga, and all future movies which have been planned out by Disney will focus on other characters and creatures, though hopefully with some reference to the history built up over the three trilogies and their spin-offs.

Published at Sun, 06 Sep 2020 13:01:00 +0000


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here