Tom Jones releases new single and music video Pop Star as announces intimate album show


    Sir Tom Jones is gearing up to release his new album Surrounded By Time at the end of the month. The upcoming record is set to feature some classic covers and the 80-year-old has already shared a couple as singles. Following on from the likes of No Hole In My Head and One More Cup Of Coffee comes Sir Tom’s take on Cat Stevens’ Pop Star.

    Pop Star originally featured on Cat Stevens’ 1970 album Mona Bone Jakon.

    On the track, Sir Tom Jones said in a video on his Instagram: “To me, a Pop Star is somebody that’s original that comes out and you think ‘Wow! That person is really shining’.

    “And you got to come on like that on tv, on record…whatever you’re doing it’s got to be like… ‘wow!’ And that’s a Pop Star.

    “Now how long that lasts, that all depends on what type of talent you got.”

    READ MORE: Sir Tom Jones on pain of not touring ‘Covid really stifling singers’

    Aside from the new single, Sir Tom also announced today that he would perform an exclusive show for his new album this summer.

    The one-off gig will take place at The O2 Shepherd’s Bush Empire in London on July 27.

    The 80-year-old wrote on Instagram: “If you pre-order my new album on my official online store before 4pm on 13th April, you will receive a code via email on the evening of the 13th, which will enable you to have first access to tickets via the pre-sale, which starts 9am on 14th April. Tickets will then go on general sale 9am on 16th April.

    “As you can imagine, I am really looking forward to performing again and this one-off show that explores Surrounded By Time along with some additional special treats, will never be repeated, so I hope you can join me!”

    Sir Tom Jones announces new album – LISTEN to his first single here [FIRST SINGLE]

    Tom Jones ‘humbled’ by fans streaming his music in their MILLIONS [TOM JONES]
    Sir Tom Jones at 80 ‘I don’t want to stop, I’ll keep singing’ [TOM JONES AT 80]

    When he announced his new album earlier this year, Sir Tom wrote on Instagram: “Last year, during lockdown and after 5 years of enormous person changes, I finally found the need to express myself through my music.

    “So I got into the studio with some great friends and musicians and created a new album! Who expects what is always so completely unexpected? My personal clock started ticketing in 1940, and with all the magnificent strangeness of life on this planet both speeding up and slowing down, the album is titled Surrounded By Time.”

    The 80-year-old shared how each song tells a story that comes from himself and reflects on his own experience at different times.

    He continued: “It’s been a helluva ride, and I am really, really proud of this. It’s a great listen and I hope you take a moment to give it some Time. Come along with me on this storybook ride…I guarantee you’ll love it! TOM.”

    Surrounded By Time track listing:

    1. I Won’t Crumble With You If You Fall
    2. The Windmills Of Your Mind
    3. Pop Star
    4. No Hole In My Head
    5. Talking Reality Television Blues
    6. I Won’t Lie
    7. This is the Sea
    8. One More Cup Of Coffee
    9. Samson And Delilah
    10. Mother Earth
    11. I’m Growing Old
    12. Lazarus Man

    Sir Tom Jones’ new album Surrounded By Time is released on April 23, 2021 and can be pre-ordered here.

    Published at Fri, 09 Apr 2021 16:33:00 +0000

    Tom Jones releases new single and music video Pop Star as announces intimate album show


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here